Harry Potter Crafts: Five Quick and Easy DIYs

harrypottermug1

Starting in January, I began rereading some of my favorite books from junior high and high school.  So far I’ve managed The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story.  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone is next up on my reading list.  I haven’t reread all of the books since Deathly Hallows came out so I think it’s about time to start from the beginning and work my way through.

Anyway, all this looking back reading-wise has gotten me in a bookish crafting sort of mood.  I’ve been trying to formulate a pattern in my mind for a pair of Ravenclaw fingerless gloves, but since I haven’t been quite successful yet, I rounded up some other crafts I might be able to try out in the meantime.  Care to join me for some Harry Potter crafting?

 (Two of the crafts below are crochet/knitting and require an account on Ravelry–which is free, btw.  The others, however, don’t take any sort of special skill set so, even if you don’t consider yourself especially crafty, there shouldn’t be any reason why you can’t do them.

  • Harry Potter DIY Mug: All you need is an oil-based sharpie paint pen, an oven, and a cheap mug for this craft.  Draw your design on the mug and cook it in an oven at 425 degrees for 30 minutes (I read it’s best if you put the mug in a cold oven and start your 30 min. once oven reaches correct temperature). If you’re extra artistically inclined, you can draw Hogwarts, characters, or creatures on you mug.  If you’re less certain of your artistic ability when it comes to drawing (like me), you can simply write a quote or a spell or a Deathly Hallows.
  • Wand Pencils: Truthfully, I don’t use pencils very often, but I would carry one of these around just to look cool.  Although, I’ve seen a bunch of wand DIYs using clay, this version looked extra easy because it used hot glue and marbles to give the wand its shape.
  • Pygmy Puffs:  Crochet your own cute and fuzzy friend (or friends–I imagine you can make several of these with a skein of yarn). These little puffs are small and quick to make–they’re basically just furry balls with eyes so they would probably be pretty simple even for a beginning crocheter.
  • House Colors Scarf Bookmarks:  You can crochet or knit these House bookmarks.  I made one a while back for my pen pal.  They’re easy if a bit frustrating (I’m not a huge fan of changing colors and having to weave in all those loose ends).  The biggest issue I find with making House color items is choosing between silver and bronze for Ravenclaw.  I do wish bronze yarn wasn’t so insanely difficult to find.
  • Deathly Hallows Shirt: Use a marker to draw the Deathly Hallows on a shirt!  While some people have done this sort of design with bleach, I think this looks simpler to do.  Also, on the plus side, you don’t have to worry about ruining your clothes.

Have you made any Harry Potter or bookish crafts of late?  Also, where do you stand on the whole bronze vs. silver Ravenclaw issue?

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter Crafts: Five Quick and Easy DIYs

Leave a Reply

