White Chocolate Cranberry Scones

whitechocolatecranberryscones

I’m one of those flighty bakers.  Every time I use a recipe, it’s just as likely that I’ll misread an ingredient and bake something truly horrible as it is that I’ll come away with an edible baked good.  So, when I find a recipe that I like and that I can make well on a regular basis, I stick with it.

I consider these scones to be one of my signature dishes.  Everyone in my family knows about them and likes them.  The recipe is great because the basic scone part (minus the craisins and white chocolate chips) can be used to make my Cherry and Dark Chocolate Scones, Blueberry Scones, and Plain Old Chocolate Chip Scones. It’s really versatile because the scone isn’t too sweet and so can be paired with all manner of ingredients.

At bakeries, I’ve had crumbly scones, cookie-like scones, and dry scones, but this recipe makes scones that are dense, not-too-sweet, and, in my opinion, delicious.  Try them out.  They’re really simple to make. 🙂

White Chocolate Cranberry Scones

(Makes 10-12 Scones)

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup (heaping) white chocolate chips

1/2 cup (heaping) dried cranberries

1/4 cup butter

3/4 cup half and half cream

1 egg

Sprinkling Sugar (Optional)

Directions:

Preheat over to 375 degrees F

In a large bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  With fingers, rub butter into mixture until evenly distributed.  Add white chocolate chips and dried cranberries.  Toss to mix.

In a small bowl, beat cream and egg.  Slowly pour into dry ingredients, stirring with a spatula until dough forms.

With a 1/4 Cup measuring cup, scoop out dough and drop on baking sheet.  (The dough can also be cut into wedges or with small cookie cutters for special occasions, but the drop method is prefferable since the dough tends to be sticky.)  At this point, if you want to snazz them up, dust them with sprinkling sugar.

Bake on an lightly greased cookie sheet for 15-20 minutes (until they are firm and lightly browned on the edges).  Serve warm or cold.

(This recipe is based on one I found on AllRecipes.com.  You can find the original here.)

Do you like to bake?  Have any signature recipes? Are you a flighty baker too? (I once doubled the sugar–and only the sugar–in a batch of blueberry muffins.  Oh my, it wasn’t pretty.)

8 thoughts on “White Chocolate Cranberry Scones

  1. Looks yummy! I’ll have to try them soon. My current place doesn’t have an oven 😦 But I’ll be in a new place in February and can’t wait to get back to baking!

      1. I love to bake cookies and muffins. I’ve never tried bread besides banana bread. I’ll definitely attempt it one of these days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

