What’s Your D&D Alignment?

alignment2

I have a bit of a thing about personality tests.  When I was in high school, I loved taking those “Which Harry Potter Character Are You” sorts of quizzes.   They weren’t always spot on, but they were always fun.  Now that I’m in my twenties, I still like to take personality tests.  I have, however, moved up from teen-made exams.  I’ve taken the Myers-Briggs and a couple of others.  I like these sort of tests because they take some of the work out of soul-searching (I’m an INFJ—we’re not great at introspection).  If you answer the questions truthfully, they’ll show you bits about yourself you recognize and other bits you wish you didn’t.  

One of my favorite, not-entirely-serious tests I’ve taken recently is the Dungeons and Dragons alignment quiz.  I like this test because it makes you look at how you see right and wrong and the world in general.  It may not show you your inner workings, but it does remind you of how and why you tick.

First up, you should know the nine Dungeons and Dragons alignments: Lawful Good, Neutral Good, Chaotic Good, Lawful Neutral, True Neutral, Chaotic Neutral, Lawful Evil, Neutral Evil, and Chaotic Evil.   In the picture above, you can see examples of each alignment.  I’m not sure I strictly agree with Mal being Neutral Good, but, still, the chart gives the basic idea of the alignments.  Have an idea of what you are yet?  Well, you can take the test here to find out for sure.  The test will also tell you what type of character you are (I’m a cleric.  Woohoo!).

So, my D&D alignment is Chaotic Neutral.  According to the pic above, I have more than a little in common with Captain Jack Sparrow.  (There’s certainly nothing wrong with that.)  The test site defines Chaotic Neutral as:

A chaotic neutral character follows his whims. He is an individualist first and last. He values his own liberty but doesn’t strive to protect others’ freedom. He avoids authority, resents restrictions, and challenges traditions. A chaotic neutral character does not intentionally disrupt organizations as part of a campaign of anarchy. To do so, he would have to be motivated either by good (and a desire to liberate others) or evil (and a desire to make those different from himself suffer). A chaotic neutral character may be unpredictable, but his behavior is not totally random. He is not as likely to jump off a bridge as to cross it.

I can’t say I disagree with being assigned this alignment.  There’s no question of me not falling into the Neutral category as I’m not one to be beholden to institutions.  I also hate idiotic rules and restrictions (and don’t particularly see the need of following them just because they exist).  I would definitely say, however, that I do fall toward the lawful end of the spectrum.  I don’t pursue anarchy or anything.  I just chose not to blindly follow those in charge.  Other characters I’ve seen attributed to this alignment are Jayne from Firefly, Han Solo, and Dr. House.

Did you take the test? What alignment did you get?  Do you agree or disagree with the results?  Any characters you think share your alignment?

Leave a Reply

